PDA

View Full Version : Advice Please

metalmaker
11-23-2009, 11:30 AM
Hi guys, I have been asked to bid on repairing (4) entrance signs for a HOA. The current signs are a 7'x11' ellipse made with natural stone tiles with 12" metal faced foam letters glued onto the face, which the young vandals keep tearing off. Rather than giving the kids more fun, I thought it would be better to use a solid surface with the lettering carved or lightly sandblasted into it. I have no sign experience so I'm not sure what to use. Signfoam, extira, or I see some that look like Corian, but I don't know. My table is 4'x8' so whatever I use will have to be that size or cut in sections and put together. I know I going in over my head but, that's how you learn and I really could use the money. Thank you for any advice or suggestions. Dan

gc3
11-23-2009, 03:07 PM
Outsource it to Joe, work in his shop for free to learn...add 25% plus installation...

Gene Crain
www.plantasymaderas.com (http://www.plantasymaderas.com)

bot_master_general
11-23-2009, 03:52 PM
Try PVC .75" and carve a panel to fit inside the 7 X 11. Stud mount, double sided tape and silicone the carved and painted panel to the tile surface.

Practice you routing skills on .50" scrap pieces. Its not hard. Take your time. I had the same feeling. Got to make money with this machine.

Painting PVC requires priming it with Tie Bond Adhesive. It promotes paint to PVC which is tricky.

HDU is easliy damaged with stones if vandalism is the issue. Pvc can take a lickin and keep on tickin.

Call if you would like to discuss issues.

Mike

joe
11-23-2009, 06:06 PM
I'm going to give Gene his usual commision.

Dan, I have the pleasure to work with several HOA's each year. Seldom do they mature into work.

Price is very important with HOA's. They seldom have a budget for you to work with so it's best to talk about money at the start. I wouldn't get too involved with design or concepts unless there's some kind of financial understanding.