PDA

View Full Version : How do you price your HDU signs?

tuck
03-31-2006, 09:49 PM
Routing HDU signs has been my bread and butter since I became a BotHead, about 4 years ago. I am not a "sign company" per say. I make my living making signs for smaller sign co.'s that don't have a CNC and need my services. I have to allow room in my pricing for their mark-up, so I guess you could call me "wholesale".

Over time, I have seen the price of HDU sheets climb steadily. Here in Georgia, the cheapest you can get a 4'x8'x 1.50" sheet is around $300.00 including tax. Up until now, my practice has been to tell customers (sign shops), "You buy and bring me the HDU, and I'll cut your signs for X amount." This has worked well, but it has some draw backs. If someone needs a small sign, say a 2'x3', for instance, and I don't have any drop laying around the shop, I tell them to go buy a sheet and then of course they don't want to shell out $300.00 for a sheet to get one small sign from, and I lose the job. It goes without saying that I have come to the conclusion that I need to start stocking sheets of HDU, 1.00" & 1.50", and therein lies my delimma. If I'm going through the trouble and expense to purchase and stock the material, shouldn't I mark up the cost of the HDU somewhat on top of what I charge to machine the sign(s)?

I know that some folks charge by time. I try to charge by the square foot so I can give a definite bid on a job. Those of you who have cut enough of these type signs (typically routed-down background with raised letters/graphics) would agree that it can take longer to cut a smaller sign with a lot of copy in it that it takes to cut a typical 4' x 8' sudivision sign that just says "Jefferson Oaks" or whatever.

Thanks in advance for any advice/thoughts/ideas.

Mark

paco
03-31-2006, 11:10 PM
Don't give it away!

If you provide the material, you should definitly make $ome money on it. How much depends on you...