PDA

View Full Version : Sign Finishing?

shawnn82
08-28-2009, 01:25 PM
Hello,
I am new to the sign business and am not to familiar with the different products out there. I jus finished designing a sign for a customer and from past experience all the clear coats I have used have been from spray cans. I cant seem to find one without a glossy finish. It needs to be weather resistant with little to no gloss as required by this customer. Any good suggestions as to what I could use or try?

Thanks much!

dakers
08-28-2009, 01:55 PM
http://www.1shot.com/home.html

http://www.clearstarcorp.com/products.asp

http://www.superfrog.com/sunscreen.html

I would study these products and or call their tech support and let them know about your application.
what type paint you use, etc.

you want non yellowing for signs.
You just want to make sure your sign is very dry before you coat it and that the top coat is compatible so it will not lift or wrinkle.

joewino
08-31-2009, 10:21 AM
My suggestion would be to not use any clear at all. In my opinion, clears speed up the failure process rather than slow it down.

Use a good, quality paint and that will outlast the clear.

That opinion comes from doing signs for 50 years.

dakers
08-31-2009, 11:18 AM
Shawn,
I agree with Raymond
We only use a liquid clear on UV flatbed printing on hard substrates that need to hold up. We had one of those $200,000. UV flat bed printers and the color just did not hold up and did not like the look of the UV printing.

I Have never used clear on one shot enamel or acrylic latex top coat as i have the same opinion as Raymond.
We do alot of digital prints and use a 3m or oracal overlaminate on flat substrates. never tried the liquid laminate.