PDA

View Full Version : Paint or paint?

baker
10-31-2007, 06:16 PM
I have been using acrylic latex enamel and paint with a brush. I can live with the brush strokes (unless you know how to get rid of them). The question is, the paint doesn't seem to dry completely after a day, and will stick to stuff, like my dirty fingers, or the clean table I just set it on for a few minutes. Why doesn't the paint cure completely. This doesn't happen with oil based paint, so should I just use that for outside signs?
Thanks - Steve B.

sam
11-16-2007, 11:38 AM
I am new to most of the shop bot stuff but i can say that oils dry faster and they don't stick to you or anything else once the paint has cured. The strokes however, it is hard to get rid of that process unless you can access or own an air compressor then you could use an air gun and spray your primer & paint on without the strokes, you just have to follow the guidelines of the of the guns operations and things should lay down nice and smooth. However i am still researching painting v-carved letterings best applications. Good luck.

randydimmette
11-16-2007, 12:41 PM
DRYING TIME FOR LATEX IS LONGER IN COOLER TEMPERATURES
FLOETROL WORKS GREAT FOR BRUSH MARKS IN LATEX BUT EXTENDS DRYING TIME
PENETROL FOR OIL BASED PAINTS

itoolfred
11-16-2007, 02:37 PM
Steve,
We used to do a lot of latex around here, and some brands can take up to 4 weeks to completely cure. If you can spray, I would highly encourage you to take a look at ML Campbell's line-up of paints. We use the MaganaMax which dries completely in about 20 mins. This is a laquer based product, if you want water take a look at their Polystar. Either one, you should be able to find the distributor in your area and get a quart sample. Even though Sherwin Williams owns ML Campbell, the guys in the SW retail stores don't have a clue about the ML Campbell products (they simply are not trained on them). Here is the Polystar web page.