PDA

View Full Version : Curved Sign

hbrannon
03-01-2008, 08:48 AM
I am new to signs, but have gotten a couple of jobs making signs for entrance ways to housing developments. I have been using HDU to make the signs, many of which are surrounded by brick or stone in the monumented entrance. I have been asked to do an oval sign for a curved wall. I visited a neighboring suddivision that has a curved sandblasted sign. The material seemed rubbery and flexible. Anyone had any experience with curved signs and flexible materials that could be routed?

jhicks
03-02-2008, 12:16 PM
Hugh, the "Die Bond" aluminum substrates can be bent but I wouldnt call them flexible. The thinner sintra and or color core stock is easily formed or would conform to a radiused wall but its not clear what you are trying to accomplish in terms of thickness or applique vs carved surface/logo/letters etc.
There is a PVC based molding material often referred to as "flex trim" which contractors use for arched window casing trim but never heard of it in sheet stock.
Other than these I dont know what you have discovered but am interested. Many of the plastic stocks can be bent with heat and pressure if thats what you need.

hbrannon
03-02-2008, 06:36 PM
Thanks Jerry, I am trying to find out the signmaker of the curved sign. I'll follow up with any info I find.

bleeth
03-03-2008, 10:47 AM
Hugh: It could be that he carved a "female" that was flat and used it for a mold. The resulting part, assuming a flexible latex compound for the male, would then be quite flexible.

hbrannon
03-03-2008, 09:09 PM
Dave, that would make sense and it does appear to be a flexible substance about 1/2 " thick. It may be from a mold.
In my search to find a way to make this sign, I contacted SignFoam about the flexibility of their HDU. They stated that while it is not flexible, kerfs could be routed into the back to allow it to bend. It will however try to straighten out so fastening can be a challenge.
Anyone heard of this?