PDA

View Full Version : Gold leaf questions

dvmike
03-06-2010, 11:20 PM
Hi All !
I am new to sign making (1 year)
I am new to this forum (1 month)
And I am new to gold leaf (NEVER !)
I have learned a lot since getting started a year ago, but I still have a lot to learn!
I may be getting a contract to build 2 , 10x6 entrance signs to a gated community.
The POA of this community wants gold leaf lettering on the signs...AND I'VE NEVER DONE IT !
Can you guys help me out with :
1-Technique ?
2-Supplies ?
Thank you !

butch
03-07-2010, 09:54 PM
http://www.letterheadsignsupply.com/commercecgi/commerce.cgi
Here is the company I use. They have lots of infomation in here on how to tips.

dakers
03-08-2010, 08:14 AM
I remember when i started doing gold leaf to letter fire trucks.
I think it is easier than putting up wall paper.
I am still learning how to do it well and look forward to the comments of those who do it frequently.

the biggest challenge i had was:
1. just figuring when the size was the right tack. (sticky but not so sticky that it comes off when you put your knuckle on it. maybe like putting your knuckle on the sticky side of tape is correct)

2. The next problem i had was getting the background smooth so no blemishes showed. Seems like any good primer sealer that levels out well then a coat of yellowish enamel paint that levels well so it looks as much like glass as possible after the size goes on. Have read where some recommend two coats of size (letting first coat dry)