PDA

View Full Version : ShopBot Link manual not making sense

dlcw
06-24-2009, 08:40 PM
I am just getting started trying to use the ShopBot Link and have run into a little snag. I'm trying to get cutting tools set up in the Link. On page 23 it states "Each tool will need to be set up in Tool Management on the Thermwood Control Prior to setting up the Operations here". On page 24 of the manual it states :ShopBot Link only allows tools that are correctly set up in the 91000 Super Control's Tool Table. The tool table can be accessed by exiting ShopBot Link and pressing F9 (Tool Management), then F2 (Tool Table) keys on the keyboard".

????????????

What is the manual talking about? When you exit ShopBot Link you are at the Windows Desktop. F9 and F2 don't do anything. Is there a whole piece of software that is needed that I have not been made aware of when I purchased ShopBot Link?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Don Thomson
Diamond Lake Custom Woodworks, LLC
www.diamondlakewoodworks.com (http://www.diamondlakewoodworks.com)

thewoodcrafter
06-24-2009, 08:50 PM
That is pretty odd.

My manual is different.
Did you get that manual when you bought the Link?
If you have a 91000 controller you have a Thermwood CNC machine and don't need the Link.

Skip all that and just set up your tools in the Link.

dlcw
06-24-2009, 09:01 PM
Roger,

Thank you for the reply. I got the manual with the software (June 12). It says

Last Updated: L.E. 5-13-2009 Version 1.x.

I don't have a Thermwood CNC machine, I have a ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x60 I purchased in May of this year. It's interesting because the online manual on Thermwoods website is the same one I have with all the references to 91000 machines, etc. I wonder what is going with Thermwood's documentation?

I will attempt to set up tools without any instructions because my manual doesn't show how to set tools up. A lot of guessing is in order with a a touch of trial and terror... :-(

Thank you,

Don