PDA

View Full Version : Nitty Questions from a Non-Owner

jemelby
12-01-2004, 12:28 PM
I've been following the Shopbot forums for a long time. Here are a few more details about me, and what I expect to get out of a SBot:

- I am a soon-to-be retired serviceman. I hope to suppliment my income from retirement and subsequent small day job (UPS, rural mail, McDonald's or some such as that)with my passion for wood.
- I WANT "Shopbot, The Toy", but NEED it to be "ShopBot, The Money Maker."
- I have some experience with woodworking, and a special "knack" for getting things done with the tools I have at hand. Sometimes, this means jigs, and using tools like they were never intended (within safe limits, of course).
- I am a realist, and have dismissed the concept of a custom-furnature business. I can't compete with walmart. My stuff is of the finest workmanship, but folks just can't/won't pay what I have into it in terms of quality, material and love. Then there is the issue of volume.
- I hope to make one-shot custom items. When there is no work, I intend to keep the SBot busy with re-sale items like shelves, big puzzles, toys, and perhaps cabinet part contracts.
- I am handy with photoshop and 3D studio Max, and can nug out simple plans and designs in AutoCAD, though I perfer AutoSketch.
- I am computer literate.
- I have researched the competition, and have settled on a shopbot as my best choice. Though I may still need some reassurance in this area.
- I have zero experience with CAM.
- If I survive my next trip to the desert, I'll likely buy an SBot in 18-24 months.

There's the Bio, here's the questions (For starters):

- If I make a cut file, and specify a cutter dia of .25", is there any checking to ensure the file has no <.25" cuts?