PDA

View Full Version : Table design to permit 5' wide material in PRT96?

kewlceo
02-17-2002, 02:04 AM
Hi, I'm a ShopBot newbie who's been lurking here for about a month, and before I take the plunge (a little router humor...very little), I'd like some opinions about a custom table design.

My question is:

Q: The largest sheet that I normally machine is 5/8" x 60" x 84" Melamine, however, the cutting path is well within the range of a PRT96. So, can the steel table plans be modified so as to accept the wider sheet, provided the PRT96 tool has the standard 64.5" x 120" mounting area?

A: My hypothesis is to invert the legs and sides, and increase by 4" the size of the cross members and end supports.

Please take a look at my quick sketch of the default PRT96 table and the modified unit by clicking on this link: PRT96 Steel Table standard and modified views (http://www.cleanaccess.com/sbtabmod.gif) and let me know what you think.

TIA,
Rick

gerald_d
02-17-2002, 11:19 AM
Hi Rick, sorry, but the SB's x-axis motors hang below the rails and they occupy the space that you want to "steal"

gerald_d
02-17-2002, 11:33 AM
However, once you know how much space the motors really need, a solution should be possible.

kewlceo
02-17-2002, 12:17 PM
Topic: The X-Files :^)

Many thanks, Gerald, your input is very helpful. Sounds like I would need to extend the table in the "x" direction and move my legs further apart so that they do not interfere with the x-axis motors within the 102" of right-to-left travel. Of course, that would mean adding a support leg directly under the center of the table (not a bad idea anyway).

Another approach would be to design more of a pedestal style base beneath the 10' x-axis side rails (and y-axis cross members).

Rick

gerald_d
02-17-2002, 12:38 PM
Support legs under the centre of the beams are a good idea.