PDA

View Full Version : 3D painting (shopbot as an art making tool)

shoeshine
09-08-2009, 01:39 AM
I have been a painter (traditional oil and acrylic on canvas) for years which has always been seperate from the stuff I make in the shop.

enter the bot...

My first real foray into integrating the two.

"that Joke Isnt Funny Anymore"
Acrylic on carved plywood and MDF
24"w x 33"h x 2.25"d

It was made in 5 pieces; frame, lettering panel, curtains (cut from a relief bitmap w/ photoVcarve), figure panel, and background.

all hand painted in artist's tube acrylics except the lettering which was masked to spray the black in and then colored by hand.

I'll be showing this piece at an Art Open in town on the 20th when I have an open studio. Be interesting to see what kind of reception it gets.

cabnet636
09-08-2009, 04:10 AM
that is creative!!

jim

myxpykalix
09-08-2009, 07:12 AM
I like the seperate objects giving it the shadows and depth. The artistic ability needed to create the paintings is great. But i don't understand the theme?

wberminio
09-08-2009, 08:53 AM
Chris

You've brought Shopbot to a new dimension!

Nice Work.

carlosgmarroquin
09-08-2009, 09:04 AM
Just Beautiful !

Thanks for sharing.

shoeshine
09-08-2009, 02:33 PM
Jack, It's an old theme...

"A man goes to a doctor and complains that he’s depressed. The doctor says the cure is quite simple, because the great clown Pagliacci happens to be in town. Go see him. He will cheer you up. The man bursts into tears, “but doctor, I am Pagliacci.”

The internal life of a clown has been used in art many times to illustrate the sometime conflicting face we put on for the world and our own private feelings and thoughts. Hence the bright colors and carnival trappings compared to the rather plain dress and low saturation pallate of the figure. I also very consiously posed the figure in a low key almost brooding posture and expression to heighten this contrast.