View Full Version : Rookie Question Re: Capabilities of ShopBot

keith_r
04-17-2006, 12:48 AM
My background is in Sheet Metal and Architectural Coated Foam Shapes (HotWire) Manufacturing. I only know basic wood working from weekends in my garage.

From what I see here though I am ready to order a large size Shop Bot to eliminate some holes in our capabilities and to improve our quality, yet I'm a little unsure.

I love all the custom capabilities, and will certainly use many of them, but what I really need is 3 things. 1) Production Molding for construction, particularly a 5x1 Fluted Molding, 2) Arched Moldings, and 3) One or Two panel cabinet doors.
I prefer to use materials like PVC board, Sometimes even recycled. Hopefully this is fine (Any suggestions on low cost plastics or similar is also appreciated).

My real concern is that perhaps this is not the correct machine for quantity runs of items like the 5x1 fluted molding. Should I get just a Molder instead? I don't really want to. I can much more easily justify the investment if I get a machine with so many more capabilities like the ShopBot. My volume for that one Item isn't that big, approximately 800-1000 l.f. per month, but I can't wait long for it. I guess the big question is how long will it take the Bot to cut 800' (80-10' pcs.) with 5 flutes? It looks like it might take like three days, is this true?

As far as the two panel doors go, is it true that I can just set up a few pre-cut flat panels, hit the go button, and come back to find 4 or 6 doors ready to go with all the reliefs cut? Can anybody guess how long it takes to cut say... 6-two panel designs in 18"x50" doors?

I'm familiar with the cad setup time and machine maintenence, etc. I'm just concerned about the actual cutting time.

Thanks So Much for any help offered! I do appreciate it. I guess I should go to Durham in 2 weeks, hope to see you there!

Thanks!

cip
04-17-2006, 06:28 AM
Keith