View Full Version : PA Speaker Cabinets... Possible?

mg75
01-27-2007, 05:47 PM
Hello,

I am completely new to CNC routing. i build professional PA speaker cabinets and other hi-fi home stereo cabinets. I currently use a table saw, hand-held router and jigsaw to do all my work.

I am very much interested in using a CNC for my work.

Here are some of cuts I would need to make...

http://billfitzmaurice.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1501

http://www.speakerplans.com/index.php?id=1850horn

Note the there are angle/miter cuts needed for these designs.

ALSO...

Which ShopBot CNC would be suitable for me?
I usually cut 3/4 Baltic Birch Plywood. I buy them as 5x5 or 4x8 sheets (HomeDepot low quality).
I recently was quoted a machine from EZ-Router which has 5x5 machine.

Any help would be much appreciated!

mg.

Brady Watson
01-27-2007, 06:08 PM
A ShopBot CNC router would be perfect for this application. There are already a number of speaker builders that use ShopBot CNCs to make these types of enclosures...and the software that comes with the ShopBot will get you up & running quickly.

-B

richards
01-27-2007, 06:12 PM
You've got some nice speaker cabinets.

The Shopbot could easily cut everything except the angle/miter cuts. Because the Z-axis is perpendicular to the cut, you would either have to tilt the material or use a v-cutter that matched the angle you need. (Personally, I would cut everything on the Shopbot and then run the angled cuts through a table saw. The Shopbot is almost perfect, but it's not a total replacement for all other woodworking tools.)

I have the 60 X 120 Alpha. You can get almost any size machine. If you're sure that you'll never cut material that is longer than 96 inches nor wider than 60 inches you could order a 60 X 96 inch machine. Back in 2004, when I was first considering a Shopbot, the sales office said that they could meet my needs.

brian
01-28-2007, 02:16 PM
Misha