PDA

View Full Version : How Much Post-Proccessing Do You Do?

jemelby
12-05-2004, 07:15 AM
<preface>
Many fo the forums regulars have responded to my niggling questions over the past week or so, I greatly appreciate their contributions. I have found answers about the mechanics of SB, software, construction and more. I have also recieved my SB Promotional CD which has some really great video. Thanks all.
</preface>

As I continue to research CNC and the Shopbot, I am also formulating the basis for a business plan. Production costs, material, marketing, finacing... ACK! All neccessary steps. One question that keeps troubling me is production time. As a woodworker, I may spend 10-15 hours building and assembling a piece of furnature, and another 10-15 hours sanding and finishing. Of course, this would never do in a production shop. Time and turn-around are what is drawing me to the SB.

For today's example, I will use an order for a sign as the example. Once I get an order, I would like to deliver the product as quickly as possible. I am quite familiar with the pre-production times (design, material selection, etc...) and I have an fair understaning of production times. What I would like to know is once the sign is cut, how much time is spent cleaning it up? For starters, how clean is the cut? If you use a V-bit exclusivly, I would imagine that you'de get a bottom similar to "A". Do you switch bits, or use a second spindle for different parts of the cut like "B?" If you had to switch bits, that would basicaly mean running the job twice. Plus, you'de have to re-zero everthing (I think). Or do you just go with "A", and spend the additional time cleaning it up with chisels and planes? What other time-consuming processes have I not considered?

As aways, the insite provided fro this forum will be invaluable as I contemplate my post-military career options.

jemelby
12-05-2004, 09:05 AM