PDA

View Full Version : Cutting 'real' curves

barrys
05-20-2004, 09:26 PM
OK, so I'm new to all of this but I've been woodworking for a while and have been a computer geek for way too long. So, in talking to my dorky friends, this issue came up:

Dorky Friend: So, when you create an image for submission to a cutting program, is it a polygon mesh or a NURBS surface.

Me (moron): Um, it's a NURBS surface in the CAD program but I export it as a polygon mesh for consumption by the toolpath generator program (MillWizard in this case).

Friend: Well, polygons, by definition are made up from little line segments. Won't you loose all of your nice real curve definitions?

Me: Hmmm. I think the polygon resolution is fine enough to make all the curves look natural.

Friend: Well, these things are like plotters, right? A plotter can draw a perfect circle which is what makes them so cool.

Me: Yup. The drive screws of the machine can do that too. Maybe the toolpath programs interpolate the polygon mesh curves back into smooth curves but I'm not sure. etc. etc.

So, what do all of you gurus think? I'm guessing that the more I'm willing to spend on software, the more smooth my curves will be. I've also heard of some of these machines advertizing "true ISO curves" or something like that.

Please respond if insomnia or boredom are getting the better of you...

Thanks,
barry

richards
05-20-2004, 10:49 PM
Forget the software for a moment and think in terms of the machine. The X-axis direction is always 90 degrees from the Y-axis direction. Either axis moves in finite steps; therefore, at the machine, everything ends up as small straight lines.