PDA

View Full Version : Machine Times?

patricktoomey
01-16-2006, 05:10 PM
I just got my ShopBot and I'm relatively new to CNC routers. I have a strong background in 3D CAD/CAM and programming so that's going to help but I'm a bit curious about other people's experience with how long it takes to do 3D carving and V Carving. I got the demo for a program called VCarve Wizard that I've seen discussed here and I also just bought Mill Wizard. I know that doing a 3D scan of a piece of carved molding with the probe and then milling a copy of it can take many hours and I can figure out the math pretty easily based on square inches, feed rate, ramp times, tool size, stepover, etc. My question is that with VCarve Wizard I'm getting some shockingly high estimates for machining times. For example, I calculate that a 2 square foot sign may take 6-12 hours to machine in 3D with a 1/8" ball end mill. I had assumed that it would be the least efficient method since it has to raster over the entire surface of the piece. By putting the same design into VCarve Wizard, I though that it would make efficient tool paths, only cutting what needs to be cut and reducing machine time considerably but instead I'm getting estimates of 40-60 hours! The quality would be dramatically higher with VCarve Wizard since it would be using a V bit and the edges would be nice and sharp but it would be hard to ever make any money if a 2 square foot sign takes 60 hours of machine time. I set the .25 inch end mill to a feed rate of 1.5 in/min and the V bit to the same with a rapid move speed of 4.5 inches/min. I'm using a PRT96 so I'm guessing those speed are the most I could hope for? The material thickness is 1 inch with the flat spots (maximum carving depth) at 0.5 inches. Am I nuts or does this sound like realistic times? I'm going to attempt to upload an image of the final sign to give an idea of the file I'm experimenting with.

scott_smith
01-16-2006, 05:58 PM