PDA

View Full Version : Hinge Machine

tradition_wood
03-22-2008, 09:41 AM
Looking to buy a hinge boring machine, never had much need for one but recently began using the Blum Inserta hinges and need the 2 side holes drilled so it is either use 2 setups/operations or look for a machine.
Anyone got one for sale? got 2 I am waiting out on eBay but maybe a better option out there.

Thanks

stockbub
03-22-2008, 10:01 AM
I bought this and a drill press. I have been using this setup for 7 years now. Drill probably 100 doors a month. Last month I broke a gear and had to replace it. Only problem I ever had. COST was substantially less then standard boring machine.

http://woodworker.com/cgi-bin/FULLPRES.exe?PARTNUM=947-828&search=Hinge%20Boring

porscheman
03-22-2008, 10:34 AM
Geoff,

I purchased a Blum Minipress on eBay about 18 months ago. For $900, I got a machine that was nearly new and I've never regretted it (especially compared to the cost of a new machine). Like Martin, I had been using several different types of drill-press mounted devices, but the Blum is top-of-the-line.

By the way, Fedex Ground will handle large packages up to 150 pounds at prices significantly lower than UPS or most freight carriers. Shipping costs on my Minipress were less than $70.

Just my two cents....

Gary Campbell
03-22-2008, 11:05 AM
Geoff..
I also purchased a minipress off eBay last year. It was less than a year old for $800. Luckily my son was able to pick it up in Detroit and we saved the shipping. Even though these tools have a very high retail, many of us can remember that the manufacturers and distributors were giving them away if you signed up to use their products.
Since you dont seem the need the "press" function you can surely save a few bucks with a bore only machine. We also have a MeplaMat 1500 if anyone needs it.
Gary

wberminio
03-22-2008, 01:26 PM
I pickuped a Grass machine about 10 years ago
My supplier had a deal I had to buy ,I believe about