View Full Version : Kcdw, cabinet pro, ecabinets? Which one?

dray
01-29-2007, 12:49 PM
My cnc will arrive this month. I just cant see shelling out $15k for kcdw then another few for a conversion prog. I have been using KCDW for 6 years (base, base, model) I like it but refuse to pay the high prices they are asking to upgrade for cnc.

Are there any other alternatives, any at all for kcdw? Some other software upgrade? or any other low cost solutions?

billp
01-29-2007, 01:10 PM
Danny,
You might want to check out Cabinet Parts Pro which is a very slick cabinet making program written by a Shopbotter, Ryan Patterson. There are a number of 'Bot owners using this already with great results. If you "search" for info on the Forum you can get more info...

thewoodcrafter
01-29-2007, 01:23 PM
I hope you find one because I need one too.
You can't use e-cabinets (Thermwood only)
Cabinet Pro has booted ShopBot (Not supported anymore)
Cabinet Parts Pro is cheap but very limited.
KCDW is $8000 from what I saw.
I looked at a few others. Most had a separate design package then the CNC package was an add on but all that I found are $8000 and up.

mgcain
01-29-2007, 01:42 PM
Let me ask this...would it be of any value to import a cut list from ecabinets, match the cabinets names up to a library of cabinets, and produce shopbot code from that list?

thewoodcrafter
01-29-2007, 02:44 PM
Mitch,
I don't understand what you are suggesting.
Import into what? And produce code with what?

patricktoomey
01-29-2007, 03:05 PM