PDA

View Full Version : Part works creating an angle?

gundog
01-11-2009, 01:10 PM
I am not very good at drawing on a computer. I have had my machine now for almost a year and have got by because my parts are very basic shapes squares, circles and rectangles. I now need to create some different shapes but still very basic. I need to create a rectangle X=12" Y=3" but I need a 45* angle on the end. How do I draw that in Partworks? If they just had a triangle I could choose that and weld the 2 shapes together but I don’t see that shape to choose from.

I also need to cut a blind dove tail slot into some material but not all the way through the far end. How can I get it to make the slot then back out with out plunging up through the work at the end of the slot? I don't see where I can create a new dove tail bit. What is a form tool bit?

I am making multiple parts so I don't want to just give it simple commands to make these moves by typing in the coordinates.

I am trying to learn this stuff by myself (self taught) and my teacher is not very smart.

Thanks Mike

harryball
01-11-2009, 01:25 PM
I created a rectangle. Then I created a large square and rotated it 38 degrees in my case. Then I moved the square over the rectangle so the side of the square was where I wanted the new side of the rectangle. Select the rectangle, shift and select the square, then subtract the vector. That clips the rectangle leaving the side at the desired angle.

The finished part looked like this...

I created the large rectangle, then used 2 squares at 38 degrees to snip long side of the the ends. I used two more squares at 52 degrees (the complement of 38 degrees) to snip the short corners. Then I created a rectangle, tipped it 38 degrees centered it and merged the two shapes.

Hope that helps.

/RB

Brian Moran
01-11-2009, 02:57 PM
Hi Mike,

You can create a triangle as a 3 sided polygon.