PDA

View Full Version : Local Fire Department Donation

dlcw
08-27-2009, 12:18 PM
I just finished this project for the local fire department where I am a volunteer firefighter, wildland firefighter and EMT. I also head up the HAZMAT Response Team for the County where this fire department is located.

This sign is made from Alder and then hand painted with One Shot sign paints. Final finish is spray on oil/urethane. It hangs on the wall using a simple 1/4" french cleat so it looks like it is floating on the wall.

Don
www.diamondlakewoodworks.com (http://www.diamondlakewoodworks.com)

bleeth
08-27-2009, 05:49 PM
Well done-and congratulations on your current and previous service.

upsman
08-27-2009, 07:17 PM
Grate job!

phd1658
08-28-2009, 08:24 AM
VERY nice!

dakers
08-28-2009, 09:37 AM
What inspired you to be a volunteer?
For me your sign represents a time of reflection.
The sign is an important reminder, warning of the seriousness that firefighters may face any time unexpected and how important they are and in some cases part of grieving process. That there is a greater purpose helps us understand.
Thanks

I googled "when i am called to duty" and "firefighters prayer" and was surprised how many lost their lives that i did not know about just in one city near me.

I for some reason think of Wagner Dodge the smoke jumper who took a bunch of young smoke jumpers into northern montana aug 1949. most died that day within an hour of jumping.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mann_Gulch_fire

attached photo of statue in new york placed recently.

dlcw
08-28-2009, 06:26 PM
Thank you all for the comments.

Dick,