PDA

View Full Version : Got my shopbot... now what

brock_poling
04-19-2009, 12:19 PM
I could use a little advice. I recently bought a used PRT Alpha 48 and I am about ready to take the shopbot adventure.

But I haven't got the first clue about CNC, CAD etc. (Yeah, I know I have a steep learning curve in front of me, I am up for it.) I know my way around a shop, tools, I have a degree in computer science but haven't actually written code in years. I need to get my hands on a CNC/Shopbot for dummies book that will take me to the very very very beginning and help me come up to speed.

I would appreciate any advice about where to get started and how I can begin to educate myself. I am quite confident I can learn this, I just need to go to the beginning and start there.

Thanks!

Brock.

ken_rychlik
04-19-2009, 12:29 PM
Those are some nice looking guitars Brock. The shopbot fiies are very easy to read. You don't have to know how to write code. The software will do it for you. It's nice to be able to modify a line here and there though.

What software is it comming with? Reading the old post in that section will help you a lot.

I would think that those old lessons will come back to you when you need them.

Have fun.

Kenenth

myxpykalix
04-19-2009, 02:47 PM
Listen Brock this stuff ain't nearly as hard as you think it might be. I figured it out within the first week having never done any cnc before. I STILL ask lots of questions 3 yrs later though.

First start out by telling us what programs you are working with and what you want to do?

There are 2d and 3d sample files in some of the supplied programs or floating around like thru "project wizard" .
You won't be required to write lines of code to create parts although you can edit part files.

Start by answering that question and we can go from there.

rcnewcomb
04-19-2009, 04:32 PM
Software Tutorials: