PDA

View Full Version : I have been wanting a Shopbot.....

lex
03-12-2007, 12:14 PM
I like to "tinker" and really like making things out of wood and high density foam. So I am doing research on shopbots. I have no experience with any CNC equipment and can semi-use ACAD.

I was wondering if there are classes that I can take for this and have a few (probably stupid) questions.

First is power. I will be set up in a garage. Reading different threads I come up with the requirement for a 220 20 amp dedicated line. Is this the same for routers and spindles or do spindles have different requirements. Do I need three phase?

Vacuum hold down...I have a couple new 5 horse bosh vacuum pumps sitting on pallets. Would this be serious overkill? Should I trade them in on something smaller?

Dust collection...As I will be in a garage, I need pretty good collection or the wife will "complain". I see mostly just shop vacs in the photos...What would be an inexpensive method that wouldn't blow my eardrums out?

The results of wood carving I see are fantastic. Are these rough cut then sanded? Or does it carve that nice?

Bah 10,000 questions and I haven't even seen a machine in person yet

harryball
03-12-2007, 05:55 PM
Lex,

FYI, I've had a 48x96 PRTAlpha with a 4HP HSD spindle for going on 6 months.

Try to locate and attend a shopbot camp if at all possible. This would be a great place to learn and see the machine first hand. You may also ask Shopbot if they have a person nearby you willing to demo or just ask on the board in the find shopbot owner topic.

I have a 30x40 attached shop disguised as a garage. I pulled a 100Amp sub panel over to my bot off my main panel and brought all my power connections out of it. What I did was probably over kill, I put a meter on it and with everything running I was pulling about 10 amps. I'm sure it pulls more when running faster with an actual cutting load... but that's a lot of head room.