PDA

View Full Version : Annoying "Select User" Pop up window

evan
01-27-2005, 12:16 PM
I was doing a search so I made the mistake of logging in and now evey time I go to a new topic or anew thread I get a POP up Window asking me to select a User. It's VERY annoying... Anyone know how to get it to stop? I've been using the Forum for a couple of years off and on and I've never had this problem before.
Thank You,
Evan

gerald_d
01-27-2005, 12:25 PM
Evan, it is not caused by this Forum's software. Check your PC for spyware. I use the freeware Ad-aware (http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/) from Lavasoft to remove spyware.

evan
01-27-2005, 02:46 PM
Gerald,
Thank you for the response and suggetion.
I've run three differant spyware removal tools (Ad-aware being one of them, Spybot and Spyware Blaster being the other two) and I'm still getting these highly annoying "Select User" pop ups. It's only happening on this forum,
that's why I'm so baffeled and frustrated.

merln
01-27-2005, 05:52 PM
Evan,
Microsoft just released in beta format their spyware software. It's free and can be downloaded from their website. It stopped a bunch of popups and my computer now runs faster.

simon
01-27-2005, 09:17 PM
FORUM layout....

Sorry to have piggybacked on what may be an inappropriate topic heading for this post, but I cannot seem to find the Start New Thread button anywhere on the forum. It should really be available on every page. Admin???

Where on earth has it got to?

srwtlc
01-27-2005, 11:51 PM
Evan, just a thought, try going to 'Tools|Internet Options' and on the 'General' tab choose to delete cookies and files in the temporary internet files section. You can get there by way of the control panel also.

gerald_d
01-28-2005, 12:26 AM