PDA

View Full Version : Setting Z height, new user

newton_c
02-02-2007, 01:41 PM
Hello,

New user here with a PRT Standard. I would like to know what is the procedure for basic setting of the Z height without a Zero plate. I am assuming that you lower the Z till bit touches material, then hit ZZ.

When setting up a file, I assume you specify the plunge depth as a negative (ie. -.256) from 0 (the Z that you set above). I noticed that when you select from the control software to cut a rectangle or circle that there is an entry for plunge depth. When running the sample shopbot logo file, I did not notice any way to set plunge depth?

Sorry for the basics, I am just getting into the manual.

Thanks

newton_c
02-02-2007, 02:00 PM
When I run the shopbot sample logo file. How do I know what material thickness, Z zero location (top of material or table) that the file was set up to work from?

What would be an appropriate speed for Z? I noticed that when I lower Z with the keyboard it is very sensitive (a little nudge turns into a large movement) this makes it dificult to set at either the table or the material height. By changing Z speed to a slower value (if thats the suggestion), would this make my cutting unreasonably slow?
Thanks

zeykr
02-02-2007, 04:51 PM
On the "K" there is a button labled 'fixed' (I think 'fixed' is the label but I'm not in front of my machine now) that will move the bit a small fixed distance with each key click. The amount it moves is a configurable variable.
Get you bit as close as you can with big movements, the hit the fixed button and get it exact.

Move your bit to top of table or workpiece then hit ZZ as you thought.

I'm not at machine so can't help with the shopbot logo file right now.

mikek
02-02-2007, 08:04 PM