View Full Version : First BIG 3d piece

bam_bam
09-04-2009, 03:18 PM
This is our first big 3d carving off the new shopbot. It is 17"tall X 31" long and is all one piece of solid cherry. Don't look at the pic to close I am not good at taking pics but I will tell you the Bot did a GREAT job and all of the thanks go to them and James Booth for the art work and Brady for all of the ramping settings and one more Great guy Jon at BQTools for the fine 1/8" ballnose bits he made special for me.

phil_o
09-04-2009, 04:43 PM
Looks great.

phd1658
09-04-2009, 05:20 PM
I second Phil's comment. What size and how long did it take you

coach
09-04-2009, 05:41 PM
nice job, what is the material?
why did you need special ball nose bits? How are they different?
Thanks for sharing.
David

bam_bam
09-04-2009, 08:34 PM
The piece is one piece of cherry wood the final size after finished was 17" tall and 31" long. It took about 1 and 1/2 hours to rough out with a 1/4 2 flute at 3ips and it took right at 12 hours to do the finish path with an 1/8" ballnose bit with a .011 step over at 2.5 ips. As for the special bit it was just a 1/8 ball nose with a 3 degree taper with a 3/4" cut length 3" OAL. I buy them from BQTools to insure that they don't brake as easy as a standard 1/8 ball nose, the 3 degree helps as does only having the 3/4" cut length. The other reason is they are about half price of many others out there.

myxpykalix
09-05-2009, 02:01 AM
The carving looks great but i'm more impressed with the fact that you got a single piece of 18" wide cherry.

bam_bam
09-05-2009, 07:26 AM
Jack,
What will really make you impressed is I have several pieces of it and they all had to be cut down to go through the 20" planer. I kept several that are still 22" wide and have great burl and some dark streakes in them. I am so thankfull that my Father-in has a super connection with the lumbermill where he lives in KY. You never know what he will find next!