Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Cutting an arc

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads, VA
    Posts
    1,128

    Question Cutting an arc

    I want to make an arc 8 foot long and 2" 'deep' So the code for this looks like

    CG, ,19.844759,0.020793,574.745911,-47.979000,T,-1

    Now what I would like to understand more is the code itself.

    In this code I see
    diameter is blank
    Xendpoint is 19.844759
    Yendpoint is 0.020793
    *X-center-offset(I) is 574.745911
    *Y-center-offset(J) is -47.979000
    True T (cut on the line)
    direction? -1 (Anticlockwise?)

    I am assuming that the center offsets are the virtual center of a giant circle containing this arc on its circumference.

    Since this arc bows left the -47 is confusing. How do I use the info to create my own arc?

    If say I wanted an 8' arc with a depth of 3 inches?

    Thanks in advance,
    "Once a person moves away from the computer and CNC some of the most important work begins." ~Joe Crumley

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    453

    Default

    This command does not work based on those parameters. You would have to calculate the radius/diameter of the circle based on your cord length and depth. Then you would have to write the g-code based on that radius/diameter and the position on your table that you want it to be placed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    453

    Default

    Check this for the derivation of the circle radius
    http://mathforum.org/library/drmath/view/55146.html

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    453

    Default

    CG is a g-code circle. The shopbot help provides a good explanation, but you can also look at g-code tutorials as well. The only real difference is that g-code separates clockwise and counter clockwise circles into two different commands where shopbot adds a direction variable. I usually find this guy pretty helpful, although I have not read this particular article.
    http://www.cnccookbook.com/CCCNCGCodeArcsG02G03.htm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    803

    Default 8 ft arc w 2 inch height

    8 ft arc 2 inches tall.dxf


    I hope the dxf for the arc you are looking for is successfully attached. I drew it up in my design program. You will potentially want to rotate it and perform other changes....

    But this should get you a little further down the road. If you need it sent to your PM, let me know.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    1,271

    Default

    Click on the Command Reference on the Help menu in SB3 and you will get a document explaining all the parameters of the CG command and others.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads, VA
    Posts
    1,128

    Default

    Thanks all. I have looked at the command reference and still don't quite get it. I know aspire makes a lot of commands more complicated than needed. Like many M3s could be MX,MY, or MZ. Is that the case here? Is there a better way to make this arc.

    Mogul Thank you so much for your extended effort and attachment. You rock. I am sorry I was not clear about my question.

    When I create the arc and tell aspire to cut the profile the command in the sbp are as follows. The real work is done by the CG command. I am just trying to 'get' the command based on the generated code.

    'Toolpath Name = Short Part Profile - End Mill (0.5 inch)
    'SHOPBOT FILE IN INCHES
    IF %(25)=1 THEN GOTO UNIT_ERROR 'check to see software is set to standard
    C#,90 'Lookup offset values
    '
    'Turning router ON
    SO,1,1
    PAUSE 2
    '
    MS,1.66,0.50
    JZ,3.376000
    J2,0.000000,0.000000
    J3,19.844759,95.978790,3.375000
    M3,19.844759,95.978790,0.000000
    CG, ,19.844759,0.020793,574.745911,-47.979000,T,-1
    J3,19.844759,0.020793,3.375000
    JZ,3.376000
    '
    'Turning router OFF
    SO,1,0
    J2,0.000000,0.000000
    END
    '
    UNIT_ERROR:
    C#,91 'Run file explaining unit error
    END


    If I move it over so the bow of the curve sits on the x=0 the code generated is
    CG, ,2.249133,0.020797,574.745911,-47.978996,T,-1
    "Once a person moves away from the computer and CNC some of the most important work begins." ~Joe Crumley

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    1,271

    Default

    If you're trying to code this hand by you might be better off using the CA or CC command.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads, VA
    Posts
    1,128

    Default

    I have been looking at both the site Sean suggests and the CA command. The end game being able to do this on the fly. Its really just a curiosity but it is what it is.
    "Once a person moves away from the computer and CNC some of the most important work begins." ~Joe Crumley

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Hampton Roads, VA
    Posts
    1,128

    Cool

    Going to the machine no. Looks like CA might be the exact thing I am looking for.
    "Once a person moves away from the computer and CNC some of the most important work begins." ~Joe Crumley

Similar Threads

  1. Cutting a State Shaped Cutting Board
    By TJ in forum Camp ShopBots/User Groups/Training Classes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-07-2013, 02:57 PM
  2. Challenges Cutting Hardwood - cutting moves panel with vacuum
    By kenakabrowncom in forum Archive2008
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-25-2008, 11:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •