Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: New machine, new headaches - need ideas

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Buford, GA
    Posts
    45

    Unhappy New machine, new headaches - need ideas

    I just took possession of a 2016 PRSAlpha ATC, replacing my OLD (circa 2001) PRT. It's taking a bit of getting used to, unfortunately. I did find out that I have a bad connector on the Z-Zero plate, which was causing a lot of headache. I have most everything figured out, but still one nagging issue, and that is depth of cut.

    The first problem: After I successfully zeroed the tool, Iput the dust skirt on and then ran my program. It was into 1/8” acrylic. I checked the program and it was to go 0.010 into the spoilboard. It probably only penetrated the material about .050”. So, I stopped the program, moved the bit to an open part of the board, turned on the spindle, moved Z to 0.00 and then ran it along the Y axis. Right on the money……barely scratched the surface. Then, I re-ran my program WITHOUT the dust skirt on and it cut fine. Is it possible that that dust skirt brush is so stiff that it prevents the Z-axis to go to full depth? There’s no other explanation for it, but it seems preposterous.

    Today I ran a program and left the dust skirt off. It was programmed to cut 0.015" into the spoilboard. It did not cut through. I edited the file to 0.020" depth. It did not cut through. I then edited the file to cut 0.040" through, and it finally did, but barely. I tried to measure the depth of the cut with my calipers, but it is as good as 0.001 into the board, and 0.000" in other places.

    What could be making my machine do this, do you think? Could my Z-stepper be bad?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Garland Tx
    Posts
    2,316

    Default

    Or perhaps a loose pinion on the Z axis?

    SG

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Buford, GA
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Hmmmm........

    I'll have to check that.....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Garland Tx
    Posts
    2,316

    Default

    Sometimes grub screws are stacked two high to lock them better… be sure to remove it completely and check for a bottom one!

    SG

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Buford, GA
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Since I bought this used, and therefore am not terribly familiar with the assembly, can you clarify a little? As in, what's a "grub screw".

    Pardon my ignorance.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Buford, GA
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Never mind. Googled it. Got it.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •