Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PC Router suddenly got quiet

Default PC Router suddenly got quiet

Hello guys. I was running a practice file on some pink foam today and all of the sudden the PC 75182 router got really quiet. Well like half as loud as normal anyway. Then it ran that way for the next five minutes and the part was done. Is this an indication of something, like does it need to be replaced now? I bought this used and I know it had plenty of hard hours on it. Thanks for any ideas...

Jason

Hey Jason, wish mine was quieter, perhaps this is the calm before the storm! Keep a spare router just in case. Good luck and have fun.

Check the brushes . They don't cost that much and are somewhat easy to replace .

Jason - I am an engineer for an electric motor company. With a brush type motor, the motor will run quieter after the brushes are worn down to match the commutation surface. We usually run our brush motors for 6 to 24 hours straight to break in the brushes. The noise will drop dramatically during this time. But you say that the motor had a lot of hours on it already. Sometimes we have found that the brushes have hard deposits embedded. This can cause noise, so you may have finally burnt through the hard spot and into the good part of the brush. We had a suspect brush supplier once, and we had their brushes analyzed by a lab. The lab told us that it looked like they swept the floor and threw that into the brushes that they were making. Hopefully these same people don't supply Porter Cable.

If your router is running cool, not drawing too many amps, the RPMs are correct, and the runout is good, you should be OK. Just keep a check on it.

Thanks guys!

Well I went to run a new file today and the router wouldn't even turn on. It seems to be dead now.

What does a guy do with one of these when it doesn't even turn on....Is it time to buy a new one?