Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Spindle bearing temperature

Default Spindle bearing temperature

Spindle expert,

what will most likely cause heat at the bearing(s); spindle RPM (high) or cutting force (thick/high chipload)?

I find that my spindle bearing get pretty hot under some circumstances and I was to start shopping for an infrared thermometer but what use will it be anyway?!... if I have to slow cutting specs. down to a router motor pace.

Paco,

I am no expert, but just finished installing my 5HP Colombo recently.

I am getting more heat from the motor than the bearings. I use an inexpensive IR thermometer from Radio Shack, ~$20 I think. Motor housing is getting about 130-135 Deg F. The PDS Colombo tech said that that was normal but not to let it get over 140 Deg F. Heat from the motor will be transferred to the bearing and heat the bearing grease making it too thin. Man....a 5 Deg F raise in temperature can cause major problems.

I am beginning to miss the ol' Porter Cable. I can buy three of them for the price of a bearing change on the Colombo! Time will tell if it was worth it!

Stan,Paco,
    I have a 6 year old and sometimes heavily used 5hp Colombo,
    I don't think my case or bearings have ever approached 130 degrees. Not that I have ever used a thermometer,but it has alwasy been barely warm to the touch. Are you guys using a line reactor between the VFD and spindle?
    Carl

Nothing scientific here; under the shower I was thinking that it is getting warmer than me (37.5°C - 99.5°F) and hotter than I can stand for, say, 5-10 seconds but less than 60°C (140°F) (because my water heater shouldn't reach any more than 60°C or it would burn me - I can't stand the water coming from only the hot tap of my home faucets any more than a few seconds). In other word, it's probably reaching a temperature in between 40°C and 57C (104°F and 135°F).