Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking for aluminum milling in exchange

Default Looking for aluminum milling in exchange

I have designed a cam-based holddown which I would like to try out on my T-tracks for some solid wood slabs I need to plane down. The key is an aluminum core which I know I could machine myself, but I have had very little experience with aluminum, and do not have the time to learn enough to do this right.

So what I am hoping is to find someone who can look at my drawing and whip out a few of these in aluminum, in exchange I'll work out the wood parts and, assuming the whole thing works as well as I think it will, provide each of us with the wood components for a nice set of holddowns. I'll need about 6 now for testing, and would like to end up with about 2 dozen if they work out.

16571.jpg

16572.jpg

Any takers?

David,
    I would be glad to help you out,im a newbie botter,just bought a used prt 96 still in the process of tweaking it in.I'm a tool and die maker by trade and have cnc machine shop at my disposal
    send me your mailing add: and as soon as i get a few minutes of spare time ill make you some sample parts.I've been pondering on methods to hold down parts to the sb,its alot different than working with metal,im used to precision vises,magnetic chucks etc...i used all of my funds to buy the sb so a good vacuum table is out of the qustion for the time being.What are some good ways to hold down parts(other than screwing the material to the table)?
    ---shawn

Oh forgot to add that if anyone else has any ideas for modification and/or accessories for the shopbot let me know if could be of any help.
    ----shawn

This sounds like a match made in heaven...

David,

When you get these hold downs finished I would sure like to see them.

David,
    Had a chance to test the clamps yet?
    Shawn

the first test pieces are ready to be cut at this moment...stay tuned..